Banda Simfònica Municipal de Castelló

Sunday 25 September 2022
Auditori i Palau de Congressos de Castelló
Free entry with invitation until capacity is full
Comunitat Valenciana

Passacaglia (2022) Miguel Matamoro (1991)

Battement d’ailes (2017) José Luis Escrivà (1984)

Apotheosis of this Earth (1971) Karel Husa
I. Apotheosis
II. Tragedy of Destruction
III. Postscript

With the projection of a video art made by Bernat Cucarella, based on the work of Karel Husa.

The Municipal Band of Castellón is taking part in the Ensems Festival for the second time.
The concert will begin with Passacaglia by the Galician Miguel Matamoro (1991), a work commissioned by the band from Castellón. Matamoro recovers this old baroque form that has been revisited over the centuries by composers such as Franck, Brahms and Berg, as he builds a discourse straddling humour and seriousness, which fits perfectly with the sonorities of the wind orchestra. In the words of the critic Paco Yáñez, Passacaglia “manages to find the exact point between the unifying elements of its great central march and the variations that open up its timbres and chromatisms, demonstrating the good work of the Galician composer”.

The second work will be Battement d’ailes for band and live electronics by J.L. Escrivà (1984), who hails from the Ribera Baixa area of Valencia. It is undoubtedly one of the most interesting works among current compositions for bands, not just from Spain. His writing finds a delicious balance between chamber music and the gran tutti, generating layers and planes of sound that give rise to a completely three-dimensional experience, along the lines of today’s best Parisian school represented by the likes of Hèctor Parra. Without a doubt, Escrivà’s work, on which he based his doctoral thesis, will delight the audience with sonorities that make the instrument sound quite naturally, while not losing its more experimental side.

The concert climaxes with one of the cornerstones of band repertoire of all time, Apotheosis of this Earth, by the Czech-American Karel Husa. It is an urgent cry to humanity to reflect upon how we are altering the world on which we live, to the point where we are taking it to destruction. Written in 1971, the same year that Greenpeace was founded and one before the first United Nations conference on the environment, the work is overwhelming in its hard-hitting style and message. In the composer’s own words: “…man’s brutal possession and misuse of the beauty of nature, if it continues at the current speed, can only lead us to catastrophe. I hope that we will be able to halt the destruction of this precious Earth; that is why the tragedy of destruction musically described in the first movement and the desolation that its consequences would lead to, shown in the third, must remain only as a fantasy. They should never become reality.”

Artistic sheet

Marcel Ortega, conductor

More information